Kirk Ferentz Wins National Award, Named Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The Football Writers Association of America announced on Wednesday that Kirk Ferentz has been named the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.

The national coach of the year award was voted on by the whole FWAA membership.

“It is rewarding to see the hard work of our entire coaching staff and every member of our football program being recognized on the national level,” Ferentz said in a University of Iowa release. “I appreciate the acknowledgement of our accomplishments. I am honored to share this recognition with our staff, our players, and our great fans, and I am grateful to the University of Iowa for providing the necessary support for our success.”

In addition to this honor, Ferentz was recognized as the American Football Coaches Association Region 3 Coach of the Year, and was awarded the Wood Hayes Coach of the Year.

After starting the 2015 season unranked, Ferentz led his team to an undefeated, 12-0 regular season in his 17th year as head coach for the Hawkeyes.

Fifth-ranked Iowa's record-setting season will culminate with a trip to the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1 to face No. 6 Stanford.


Latest News

More News