Coach of the Year Candidate Ferentz, Ball-Hawking Defense

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- University of Iowa head football coach Kirk Ferentz is one of 22 coaches named to the American Heart Association Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Watch List for 2015. This prestigious award honors excellence in college football coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke. The winner will be announced Jan. 13, 2016, at a live ceremony in Houston.

The 22 coaches on this year’s watch list are (in alphabetical order):

  • Art Briles, Baylor
  • Matt Campbell, Toledo
  • David Cutcliffe, Duke
  • Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
  • Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
  • Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
  • Justin Fuente, Memphis
  • Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
  • Jim Harbaugh, Michigan
  • Tom Herman, Houston
  • Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
  • Jim McElwain, Florida
  • Urban Meyer, Ohio State
  • Les Miles, LSU
  • Pat Narduzzi, Pittsburgh
  • Gary Patterson, TCU
  • Matt Rhule, Temple
  • Nick Saban, Alabama
  • David Shaw, Stanford
  • Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M
  • Dabo Swinney, Clemson
  • Kyle Whittingham, Utah

In December, five to 10 finalists will be announced. Finalists will attend an awards banquet Jan. 13, 2016, at the Hilton Americas Houston, where the winner will be announced live. The Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor determined after all bowl games are concluded and is voted on by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. The 2014 winner was Gary Patterson of TCU.

Ferentz has guided the Hawkeyes to a 7-0 record to start the 2015 season. It marks the second time Ferentz has started a season 7-0 (2009), and is the fifth time in school history. The Hawkeyes are one of two FBS schools to post two road victories over AP ranked opponents (Alabama), with Iowa winning at No. 18 Wisconsin (10-6) and No. 20 Northwestern (40-10). Ferentz has amassed 122 wins as a member of the Big Ten Conference, tying Michigan’s Lloyd Carr for eighth all-time (122). Ferentz has 71 Big Ten wins, the ninth most by a head coach in the history of the league.


Latest News

More News