WHO-HD Earns 16 Eric Sevareid Awards for Journalism Excellence

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Station honored with 10 1st Place trophies and 6 Awards of Merit
Channel 13 News earns 1st place for Weather, Sports, Series, Investigation, Website and more
WHO-HD Weather Team earns 1st place for third straight year

WHO-HD was the big Iowa winner at this weekend’s Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association awards gala bringing home 16 Eric Sevareid Awards…the most of any station in Iowa..  The accolades included 10 First Place and 6 Awards of Merit in the Medium Market-Television category.  The awards were presented Saturday night in Bloomington, MN.

The Channel 13 Weather Team with Chief Meteorologist Ed Wilson and meteorologists Jeriann Ritter, Megan Salois, Brett McIntyre and Jennifer McDermed earned 1st place for weather excellence for the third straight year. And the Channel 13 Sports team with Sports Director Keith Murphy, John Sears and Michael Admire was honored with the 1st place Sportscast for the second consecutive year.

Other 1st place awards were earned in the categories of Series, Investigation, Hard Feature, Broadcast Writing, Reporting, Sports Reporting, Photojournalist and Website.

“I’m humbled by the quality of work the men and women of Channel 13 News continue to achieve,” said WHO-HD News Director Rod Peterson.  “Their hard work and dedication to excellence continues to be recognized not only by our incredible viewers but also by their peers.  I am proud to work with them every day.”

The entire list of awards, the recipients and links to their award-winning stories are below.

1st Place Awards Awards of Merit
Weather Excellence
Meteorologists Ed Wilson, Jeriann Ritter, Megan Salois, Brett McIntyre, Amber Alexander, Jennifer McDermed
General Reporting
Mr. Secretary
Dave Price, Reporter
Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist

The Wounds of War
Lynn Melling, Reporter
Randy Schumacher & Matt Van Winkle, Photojournalists

Channel 13 News at 5
Kelly Jellings, Producer
Hidden Agenda
Aaron Brilbeck, Reporter
Chris Jones, Photojournalist

Madam Secretary
Dave Price, Reporter
Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist
Hard Feature
The Day Brandon Disappeared
Dan Winters, Reporter
Brandon McCauley, Photojournalist

Soft Feature
A Natural Thing To Do
Erin Kiernan, Reporter
Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist

Broadcast Writing
Andy Fales Covers Iowa
Andy Fales, Reporter/Writer

Sports Reporting
Train To Inspire
Erin Kiernan, Reporter
Eric Gooden, Photojournalist

General Reporting
Justin Surrency, Reporter
Travis Jungling, Photojournalist

Talk/Public Affairs
An Alternative For Autism
Jannay Towne, Reporter
Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist

Keith Murphy, John Sears, Michael Admire

Sports Reporting
Included at Last
Andy Fales, Reporter
Matt Van Winkle, Photojournalist


Eric Gooden

Aaron Hepker, Kelly Maricle, Nick Wilder
Katlin McKinney, WHO-HD News Team


The Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA) serves Midwest electronic journalists with training, networking and career growth.  The MBJA’s service area covers six states including North and South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin.  Chartered in 1949 as the Northwest Broadcast News Association (NBNA), the association changed their name in 2014 to better reflect the group’s identity.


Latest News

More News