WINNERS ANNOUNCED: Twenty Lotto Winners

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The names of the winners of Iowa’s biggest lottery prize have been released. 

The co-workers from the Quaker Oats Cedar Rapids plant claimed the $231 million Powerball jackpot on June 20th and initially wanted to keep their individual names confidential. 

The Iowa Lottery extended them 10 business days to request an injunction, but the Lottery said Friday that the prize winners did not file for the injunction, and their names were announced. 

The names and cities of residence of the 18 men and two women who are members of The Shipping 20 are:

Tommy Campbell Sr., William Carnahan, Mike Hughes, Denise Hunt, Terry Koopman, David Morgan, Charles Shedek, Gregory Stearns and Rodney Tierney from Cedar Rapids; Timothy Himmelsbach and Kelly Mulford from Marion; Daniel Cantonwine of Vinton; Kenneth Cole of Fairfax; Robert Havlik of Toddville; Carol Kremer of Central City; Allen Miller of Shellsburg; Larry Nielsen of Walker; Brent Novak of Shellsburg; Jason Rauch of Ryan; John Wharton of Keystone.

The group chose to receive their prize in a lump-sum of $160.3 million.  Each member of the group received about $8 million ($5.6 million after withholding taxes).

At least 11 members of the group said they would retire after winning the prize.    

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


Latest News

More News